Why Dogs Love Us

Saw this article in PAWS Chicago magazine ( http://www.pawschicago.org/ ) and thought it had a lot of great information.

The author is Robert J. Bliwise and the article originally appeared in DUKE Magazine

http://dukemagazine.duke.edu/

Here’s an excerpt and a link to the full article:

http://www.dukemagazine.duke.edu/issues/010210/hare2.html

“Dogs love us,” Hare says. “They’re obsessed with humans. They’re fascinated with us, and they’ve been bred to be so. It’s a little bit artificial for me to have a social interaction with a chimpanzee and make conclusions about its social cognition. With a dog, the best social stimulus you can have is a human.”

But humans haven’t necessarily been adept at understanding dogs, a phenomenon that presents a scientific opportunity. “Where dogs have been selected to be obsessed with humans, humans have not been selected to be obsessed with dogs,” he says. “When I’m with my dog, he’s watching me constantly. He wants to be in the same room. He wants to know where I’m going, he wants to know what I’m doing, he wants to know what I’m touching. I’m not watching him that way. That means I miss a lot of stuff that he’s doing.”

##

Leave a Reply

